SUNO Commencement Saturday, May 10 at Lakefront Arena

Bruce O. McLean 2014 Top Graduate

Bruce O. McLean
2014 Top Graduate


 Johnny C. Taylor Jr. TMCF President & CEO

Johnny C. Taylor Jr.
TMCF President & CEO

Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO) will confer degrees for 498 graduates during its 2014 Commencement Saturday, May 10 at 4 p.m. at the Lakefront Arena. Johnny C. Taylor Jr., president and chief executive officer of the Thurgood Marshall College Fund (TMCF), is the Commencement speaker.


SUNO’s Class of 2014 consists of 54 honor graduates: five Suma Cum Laude, 10 Magna Cum Laude, 27 Cum Laude and 12 Honors. Business Administration major Bruce O. McLean will graduate with the highest grade-point average of 3.975. The University also will grant a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Information Systems to David Perryman posthumously. Perryman, 42, was killed in an auto accident Sept. 18, 2013.


TMCF’s Taylor leads the only national organization representing nearly 300,000 students attending this country’s 47 public Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). Approximately 80 percent of all HBCU students attend TMCF member-schools.


An Isaac Bashevis Singer Scholar and honors graduate of the University of Miami, he earned a Master of Arts with Honors from Drake University and a Doctor of Jurisprudence with Honors from the Drake Law School. He is licensed to practice law in Florida, Illinois and Washington, D.C., and holds a Senior Professional in Human Resources certification. He serves on the corporate board of Gallup and volunteers at several not-for-profit boards.  He is a member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.