First season: 2009

First match & opponent: August 29, 2009 vs. Judson College (SUNO lost 3-2)

First win: October 17, 2009 vs. Judson College (3-0)

First conference win: September 7, 2010 vs. Xavier University of Louisiana (3-2)


Wendy Magee 2009-2010
Naomi Washington 2010-Present

Athletic Director: Elston King

Chancellor: Victor Ukpolo, Ph.D.

First roster:

  • Ashley Cagle, Outside Hitter, Argo, Ala.
  • LaNika “Niki” Collins, Setter, Baton Rouge, La.
  • Blake DeLarge, Libero, New Orleans, La.
  • Tashawna Hampton, Outside Hitter, Pasadena, Calif.
  • Ashley Harding, Outside Hitter, Pensacola, Fla.
  • Shatoria Nelson, Libero, Denver, Colo.
  • Kiarra Sims, Outside Hitter, Baton Rouge, La.
  • Brittany Thomas, Libero, New Orleans, La.
  • Zipporah Washington, Outside Hitter, New Orleans, La.
  • De’Joire Matthews, Team Manager, New Orleans, La.


GCAC All-Conference Players:

2010 Wyneika Anderson
2010 Veronica Azubuike (Freshman of the Year)
2010 Gabrielle Carter
2011 Christal Hollins
2011 Zipporah Washington
2012 Christal Hollins
2012 Zipporah Washington
2012 Stephanie Buhl
2012 Jana Reingaham (Freshman of the Year)
2013 Stephanie Buhl
2013 Christal Kay Hollins
2013 Delores Tyler (Freshman of the Year)
2013 Zipporah Washington (Player of the Year)


GCAC Coach of the Year

Naomi Washington     2013