Shawn Charles


Park Campus

Bashful Administration Building 1st Floor

(504) 286-5321 Main

(504) 286-5328 Fax



The primary mission of the Comptroller’s Office is to efficiently and effectively monitor financial resources to minimize business risk, safeguard University assets, monitor fiscal compliance, ensure timely and accurate financial reporting, improve internal controls and accountability at all levels, and provide professional and courteous services to our customers.
All operational processes of the office function together in supporting the University’s Strategic Plan and institutional goal of Efficiency, Effectiveness, and Accountability.


Departmental Description
The Comptroller’s Office is under the reporting hierarchy of the Vice Chancellor for Administration & Finance.  Direct management of the operational processes within the office has been delegated through administrative support managers.

Chief Accountant
Director of Accounts Payable

These administrative support units exist to ensure the continued success of the University as an institution of higher education in achieving its mission of teaching, research, and outreach.  The core functions performed by these unites include general accounting, grant & contract accounting, accounts payable, travel management, cashier operations, student billings & receivables, collections & receivables, cash management, and administrative support.


Chief Accountant Grady Patterson 504-286-5256
Administrative Assistant Diana Johnson 504-286-5321
Accounts Payable Accountant


Shannon Williams 504-286-5133

Cashier’s Office Sylvia Smith  504-286-5322

Grants & Contracts Accountant Alonda Gibson 504-286-5021

Cashier Supervisor Matthew Dent 504- 286-5323

Payroll Accountant Trittany Saverin 504-286-5151

Bank Reconciliation Accountant Danielle Wright 504-286-5132