Honda Campus All-Star Challenge Team



The Honda Campus All-Star Challenge is the nation’s first-ever academic competition between students at Historically Black Colleges & Universities.

From 1989 through 1995, the program involved campus competition, regionally based Sectional Playoffs and a National Championship Tournament.  The finals during that time were broadcast on Black Entertainment Television (BET).

Starting in 1996, the program evolved to an annual gathering of HBCUs to compete at a face-to-face National Championship Tournament. Every spring, students, coaches, campus coordinators, volunteers, HBCU presidents, members of the Association of College Unions International (ACUI), and the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO) gather to crown one National Champion.

Since 1989, nearly 100,000 HBCU students have participated in Honda Campus All-Star Challenge, and Honda has awarded over $7 million dollars in grants to the participating HBCUs. These grants have enhanced student programs, and the students’ college experience.

If you have an interest in joining the SUNO Honda Campus All-Star Challenge squad visit Building 23 on the Lake Campus or contact 504-286-5209.

DSC_1128 (2)

The 2012-2013 Southern University at New Orleans Honda All-Star Challengers

First row: Tiffany Okereke, Catheryn Major, Ruth W. Johnson Campus Coordinator, Amelia B. Sellers Coach, Shrylin Davis, Sarah Perron, Emile Evans

Second Row: Rochelle Cureaux, Miguel Devezin, Lauren Robinson, Terry Simon Coleman, Michael Cassel, Marc A. Guichard

Not photographed: Tobiloba Adasofunjo, Dalvin W. Ford, Jr.