News & Events

Breakfast of Champions 11 touts record-breaking grant dollars

September 1, 2011

Breakfast of Champions 11

Atty. Wesley Bishop (left) accepts certificates for Dr. David Adegboye, Linda Frederick, and Ruth Johnson, and Mrs. Gladys Barrett-Merrick (2nd from right) accepts a certificate for Dr. Ronald Mancoske along with other Million Dollar Club Honorees (l. to r.) Dr. Igwe Udeh, Mrs. Cynthia Beaulieu, and Dr. Brenda Jackson.

A rainy Thursday morning brought hope that New Orleanians would see the end of the infamous marsh fire that had burned for about week, but it could not douse the hot grant dollars that were recognized at the 11th Annual Breakfast of Champions. Hosted by the Offices of Grants & Sponsored Programs and Academic Affairs, the event honors faculty and staff who contribute to SUNO’s resource through grantsmanship. Dr. William Belisle, who coordinates the annual breakfast, noted that University and faculty and staff united to achieve a record-breaking $31 million in grants in the 2010-2011 fiscal year.

“Our faculty and staff work very hard to keep up with their daily class schedules and jobs. This event is something that we do to show appreciation for their important contributions to the University,” said Dr. Belisle.

The event recognizes individuals for: Writing and Submitting Proposals, the Most Submitted Proposals, Winning Grant Awards, the Most Funded Awards, Outstanding Contribution to Grantsmanship, (being members of) the Million Dollar Club, and the Most Outstanding Grant Writer of the previous fiscal year.

Some of the 2010-2011 notable honorees included:

Most Funded Awards Ms. Cynthia Beaulieu

Dr. Murty Kambhampati

Dr. Brenda Jackson

Dr. Joe OmojolaMillion Dollar ClubDr. David Adegboye

Mrs. Cynthia Beaulieu

Mrs. Linda Frederick

Dr. Brenda Jackson

Mrs. Ruth Johnson

Dr. Ronald Mancoske

Dr. Igwe UdehOutstanding Contributor to GrantsmanshipMs. Leatrice LatimoreMost Outstanding Grant Writer 2010-2011Dr. Joe Omojola

Breakfast of Champions celebrates 10 years

September 23, 2010

The funding champions of Southern University at New Orleans were recognized when the Office of Grants & Sponsored Programs held the 10th annual Breakfast of Champions on September 23, 2010. The annual ceremony celebrates those faculty and staff who help enhance SUNO’s resources through grantsmanship, which has become more vital than ever to the University’s survival.

Breakfast of Champions

Dr. William Belisle, SUNO’s Director of Grants & Sponsored Programs (right) and Dr. David Adegboye, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (left) with the “Million Dollar Club”, those faculty and staff who are awarded at least $1 million in grants. The 2009-2010 recipients include (l. to r.) Dr. Brenda Jackson, Dr. Illya Tietzel, and Dr. Joe Omojola. Other recipients, not pictured, were Dr. Murty Kambhampati, Dr. Carl Johnson, and Mr. Edmond Cummings. More photos are available on SUNO’s Flickr page.

Recognizing the contributions of the faculty and staff can hardly be measured with words with the constant threat of state budget cuts. Grants serve as a major contributor beyond simply putting funds into the University’s coffers. According to Dr. William Belisle, Director of Grants and Sponsored Programs, the importance of grantsmanship spans from providing resources for improvement of academic programs to student support to professional development to meeting accreditation body requirements.

That makes the Breakfast of Champions even more appreciated. “If it weren’t for them, there would be none of this (University resources),” says Belisle. So impressive is the work of faculty and staff that the annual grant awards have recently outpaced the general state budget for SUNO. Belisle says what impresses him the most about faculty and staff is their ability to persevere with the pressures they already endure.

Such recognition clearly makes the Breakfast of Champions more than a meal. Dr. David Adegboye, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, affirmed the event’s importance in his closing remarks. “This is one of the most noteworthy activities on campus,” said Adegboye. “Be encouraged by this kind of activity.”

Faculty and staff members are highly encouraged to get involved in the grant-writing process. Belisle says that getting involved is as simple as a visit to the Office of Grants and Sponsored Programs (Administration 316). “We’ll take care of the rest,” he says.