Notable Alumni


Louis Westerfield, Ph.D., J.D. ’71

Southern University at New Orleans celebrates the accomplishments of all of its alumni.  A common theme among SUNO graduates is a firm commitment to community building and social action.  Here are some of the many alumni who have made their marks, telling communities across America and around the world what it means to be a SUNO Knight.

Rev. Avery C. Alexander
Civil Rights activist and former State Representative

Lambert Boissiere, III
Commissioner, Louisiana Public Service Commission, District 3

Michael Bruno
CPA and Managing Partner, Bruno & Tervalon, LLC

Richard Caiton
Member, Southern University System Board of Supervisors and East Bank Regional Assistant, Jefferson Parish Public Schools Student Services

Alice Craft-Kerney

Founder & Executive Director, Lower 9th Ward Health Clinic also nationally recognized for her post-Katrina efforts at “V to the Tenth” celebration at the Louisiana Superdome in 2008

Marlon Defillo
Deputy Superintendent, New Orleans Police Department

Lynn Foy
Educator and recipient of the 2008 Milken Educator Award

Ron Gardner
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Clinical Affairs, LSU Health Sciences Center

Louella Givens
Member, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Major Bernadine Weaver Kelly
First African-American female NOPD Officer to be promoted to Captain

Oretha Castle Haley
Civil Rights activist

Audrey Hampton
Co-owner, Hamp’s Construction

Loretta Harrison
Owner, Loretta’s Authentic Pralines


Loretta Harrison ’81

Jon D. Johnson
New Orleans City Councilman, District E, businessman and former Louisiana State Senator, District 2

Charmaine Marchand Stiaes
Louisiana State Representative, District 99

Jeffrey May
Deputy Director, National Neighbors and former Executive Director, Greater New Orleans Fair Housing Action Center

Keith Medley
Author, “We as Freemen: Plessy vs. Ferguson”

Lea Polk Montgomery
Vice Chair, Southern University System Board of Supervisors; member, New Orleans Aviation Board and Second Vice President/Financial Consultant, Solomon/Smith/Barney, Inc.

David C. Perkins
Undersecretary, Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs

Warren J. Riley
Former Superintendent, New Orleans Police Department


Warren Riley, B’98, M’00

Timolynn Sams
Executive Director, Neighborhoods Partnership Network and selected one of “50 Visionaries Who Are Changing Your World” by Utne Reader

Dr. Vera Triplett
Chief Operating Officer, Capital One-UNO Charter School Network and family therapist

Vera Warren-Williams

Owner, Community Book Center

Dr. Louis Westerfield, J.D.

First African-American Dean, Loyola New Orleans College of Law and University of Mississippi School of Law

Arlanda J. Williams
Chair, Terrebonne Parish Council (first woman); Secretary, Louisiana Democratic Party; and President, Louisiana Police Jury Association Black Caucus (youngest ever elected)


Arlanda Williams B’03, M’06

Frank Williams
Executive Director, Greater New Orleans Foundation